On The Road to Finding My Calling

To Encourage and Inspire You to NEVER give up!

Think Positively!

Leave a comment

Hello again friends. 

As I type this, I have had a lot of thoughts on how to word this. Simply because, I’m not always the most positive person. I hold grudges. I get angry. Ok- I know I’m human and I make mistakes, and I’m totally a passive-aggressive individual. A people pleaser.

Back in March of this past year- I was getting ready to train for a half marathon. A block from my house, I was struck by a car. Fortunately I (pretty much) walked away from the accident with the exception of an ACL that was completely obliterated, an impact fracture to my left knee and a torn meniscus. When it was pretty clear I would not be able to make that half marathon that I had done back in 2011. I…was….MAD! So mad that it threw me into a depression. Affected my job. Affected my relationships with my family and friends. In April, I got surgery to repair the ACL and meniscus. I thought the worst was over. Nope…I was wrong. As I recovered from my surgery, my back basically “readjusted” itself and as my knee got better- my back got worse. The pain was unlike anything I ever experienced. I spent many nights in the ER trying to figure out was wrong (and ended up being looked at as a “drug seeker”)….3 MRI’s and 2 X-Rays later, I found out there was damage to my back that is pretty much irreversible. So, I have to learn to deal with it. Not thrilled about it, but there it is. I ended up eventually losing my job as the pain issues (and not to mention it was my 3rd surgery in a 14 month period- but that’s a whole ‘nother chapter) in September of 2013 due to my work performance slipping and my mental state of mind was in a bad place.

Why am I telling you this?

In every adversity, there ARE ways to overcome! Truth be told- I’ve had days where I’ve ended up stuck in bed due to my pain issues. But the days that are good, I get stuff DONE. If you have pain issues, you all know what I’m talking about. How one person handles it from day to day is different than the next person. Sometimes, the pain and the sadness is all too overwhelming to handle and you can’t get out of that dark place. Friends, let me encourage you! The good, pain-free days- embrace that! If you’re able to, move around. Get out there and smile. Be kind to a stranger. Hug your loved ones a bit tighter. You got one life to live. Live it to the fullest!

In closing, I’d like to add this from the song “Brave” by Sara Bareilles:

Everybody’s been there,
Everybody’s been stared down by the enemy
Fallen for the fear
And done some disappearing,
Bow down to the mighty
Don’t run, just stop holding your tongue
Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live
Maybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave is

Be Brave. Be Bold. Love one another.

Peace

.Image

Author: carlenlloyd

Mom to 2 teenagers, in a relationship with a great guy, lover of God, life, family, bicycling and nature, and just makin' my way in this world and overcoming obstacles..... In the words of Dory from "Finding Nemo": "Just keep swimming, just keep swimming...."

Leave a Reply

